Daily Archives: July 17, 2006

Detox

O ye who believe! eat of the good things that We have provided for you, and be grateful to Allah, if it is Him ye worship. Al-Qur’an 1:172

Recently, I started a 10 day detoxification program. A detox is a short term “diet” that is meant to cleanse your body of toxins. On this particular program, I have been avoiding meat, fish, soda, caffeine, sugar, and any “white starches,” like white bread, rice and pasta. I think everyone should do a detox every once in awhile. It really cleans out your system and centers you. But stay home for the first few days if you can, cuz you will be on the toilet A LOT.

Anyway, I have been living as a vegetarian for 7 days now, and it’s not that bad. For breakfast I have oatmeal and fruit, lunch is a salad with egg whites, garbanzo beans and lots of veggies. For dinner I will have brown rice and some type of beans, or a vegetarian soup, like lentil or split pea. For snacks I have fruits, veggies and sometimes yogurt. I only drink water. I was a vegetarian for about 4 years when I was younger, so this way of eating is not new to me. The problem is getting my hubby to adjust to it.

We were doing sooo well, until…on Saturday we got salads from Whole Foods and my hubby also got a decadent desert. It was a Cafe Mocha Butter Bar. He was so excited to get it and he took a few bites then put it away. And the rest still sits in the refrigerator. The thing about detoxing is that after you’ve been doing it for awhile, the foods you used to enjoy don’t taste as good anymore.

I’ve been thinking abou becoming a vegetarian again. Although, my hubby disagrees with it from a theological standpoint. He says that Allah(swt) allows us to eat animals so it would be like denying his blessings to avoid them completely. I’m still thinking about it.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized